Novels

Kathleen’s first novel is Well-Hidden Secrets, an adult gothic ghost story.

It is part ghost story, part time travel, part ancestry, and all creepy mystery. Fans of Erica WatersGhost Wood Song and Wendy Webb’s The Haunting of Brynn Wilder and The Fate of Mercy Alban and will enjoy this book. Those who enjoyed Medium and The Ghost Whisperer tv series will love this story.

Release date TBA.

Kathleen has always enjoyed writing and has a passionate and wild imagination. She loves to write fiction that thrill, chill, spark emotion, or involve a mystery or adventure of some kind. She loves psychological thrillers and suspense, mysteries, ghost stories, historical fiction, time-travel, and fantasy worlds. Often times, she will take even the smallest, most insignificant experience of her own, mould and shape and re-define it, and turn it into something else entirely – and thus, her stories are born, often essentially writing themselves.

Such was the case with Well-Hidden Secrets.

A ghostly encounter catapults forty-year-old Jennifer Leighton into a search to solve an ancestor’s one-hundred-sixty-year-old murder. What she finds changes everything she knew and trusted about her family’s past.

Jennifer has been plagued by ghostly visits as long as she can remember. She’s learned to ignore them, but one paralyzing encounter has remained with her since she was fifteen. When she learns she’s not the only one in her family who has seen this man, she realizes in order to break the pattern of frightening visits, she must overcome her fear and learn to control her mediumship abilities. No one else in her family can communicate with ghosts like she can, so it’s up to her to solve the mystery of who this man is and what he wants. If she can give him peace, he will leave her family alone – the most important one being her daughter, who Jennifer will do anything to protect.

With much trepidation, she visits a psychic where she hones her skills and learns the man is a murdered ancestor – who is not listed anywhere on her family tree. She’s able to connect with her ancestors and gain not only information, but incredibly real experiences of the past through their visions. But when she’s out of clues from her Ontario hometown, she must travel to ancestral lands in England to unbury family secrets and find the physical evidence she needs to prove the identity of Jared’s murderer and set Jared free. If she doesn’t, her daughter will suffer his terrifying visits, as will the rest of her family for generations to come.

Stay tuned for updates! You can catch the first couple chapters on her blog.


Aside from Well-Hidden Secrets, Kathleen has been working away on the second book in the series, The Whispering Bones. This time, Jennifer is in another setting, so an entirely different storyline emerges with the same underlying premise as the first book. Guaranteed to give you goosebumps!


And in other news, Kathleen is wrapping up a psychological/domestic suspense! Hold on to your hats, because it’s going to be a good one! If you’ve ever wondered about the intricacies of a psychologically abusive marriage and why someone doesn’t “just leave,” this book will show you. If you enjoy Gillian Flynn novels, Chevy Steven’s NEVER LET YOU GO, and YOU on Netflix, you’ll love this book.

Megan is tired of being hurt and is done with men, but then Matthew, a protective police officer, sweeps her off her feet with his irresistible charm. She thinks she’s found love. He sees a target. She’ll be perfect.

An unexpected pregnancy forces Matthew to play Mr. Responsibility or risk losing his reputation and inheritance. When he proposes, Megan is thrilled – she’s always wanted a family. As they evolve, Matthew toys with her mind and emotions. Megan loves being a mom but becomes someone she doesn’t recognize. When she discovers Matthew’s affair, he detonates the marriage and blames Megan for everything.

Matthew ups his insidious game of cat and mouse, leading to Megan’s nervous breakdown. He uses their children as pawns to maintain control. The sickening revelation that her ex-husband is a sociopathic narcissist makes her desperate to protect her kids from him, but the legal system fails her. When an accident happens, Matthew is charged with attempted murder. Megan is asked to testify against him. He swears he didn’t do it. Megan is torn between wanting to believe the man she once loved and finally listening to her instincts. If he gets locked away, she and her kids will be safe – but her life is in danger because Matthew will stop at nothing to prevent her from ruining him.


AND… drum roll please… a new action/adventure is in the works featuring early 18th-Century pirates, a mid-16th Century poet, centuries-old hidden family secrets, a twist on hidden treasure, and a present-day female protagonist who’s a Philologist and (unknowing) heir apparent to a family of Portuguese descent! 👀 🏴‍☠️ 🪙 ⛵️ 🇵🇹

Don’t miss out on any news! You can subscribe to Kathleen’s blog by hitting subscribe below.

Kathleen Foxx Author
<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: